25 August 2024

This one is going to be a short post, since today was spent packing for move-in the next day. But here's a bit of rundown on what I want to do going forward:

Schedule

I am planning to maintain a consistent posting schedule for this "blog", with a new post going up every Sunday (or every other Sunday. I think the semester would get in the way of weekly posting at some points, especially late November to December). As a result, you can tune in and expect to find regular running commentary on my compositional and musicological projects, unless stated otherwise. Sometimes, posts can also be made early- I'm planning to have one on the 30th for the release of Fabrice Fitch's reconstruction of Obrecht's Missa Scaramella, for example. So really, to borrow a phrase from my choir director, there is one every Sunday until there isn't.

Topics

For the semester, I will be mainly focusing on my opera project and the study on 15th century chansons. They will likely be in two seperate subsections to keep things neat and orderly, so if you're interested in one or the other, feel free to just skip to the relevant parts. Or if you like both, then all the more kudos to you. But what happens if I run out of things to talk about for either? I will keep the topics music-focused, but there will be times where I just feel like talking about something musically interesting to me rather than my projects. For now, the format I will go with moving forward is to have three sections per post: one for the opera, one for the study, and one for other musical topics- omitting any of the first two if the situation calls for it.

Other things

I was contemplating adding a 'New Finds' part to the website in order for me to really sit down, listen to, and review something new at least once per week, but we'll see how that pans out with the weekly blog posts. Plus, it'll need to fit in with class scheduling somehow. But it's a plausible idea nonetheless, especially once classes end.

And that's about all for this week. Meanwhile, progress on the opera has been slow- I've been stuck in writing the middle part of a particular scene- but more on that next Sunday.


Back to Blog | Sitemap